Cisco Wranglers Named to the SJCFC All Conference Team

CISCO, Texas – Several Cisco College Wrangler football players were recently named to the Southwest Junior College Football Conference All Conference Team.

On offense, Jacob Morgan, freshman quarterback for Cisco, was named as Offensive MVP and as the first team quarterback. Morgan is originally from Austin and plans to return to play for the Wranglers next season. He hopes to eventually transfer to Texas Christian University or Texas A&M University and pursue a degree in business management. When asked about his thoughts on next year’s team, he said, “I’m looking forward to winning conference next year. I think we’ll have what it takes.”

Other members of the first team offense include: Clifton Bellard, sophomore tight end; Jarmon Johnson, freshman wide receiver; and Ken Van Huele, sophomore offensive line.

Honorable mention offensive members include: M.J. Porter, sophomore wide receiver; Quincy Scott, sophomore wide receiver; Dex Dennard, freshman offensive line; and Evyn Perry sophomore center.

First team defensive members include: Lorenza Young, freshman defensive tackle; Steven Uasike, sophomore linebacker; and Tyrus McGlothen, freshman corner.

Honorable mention defensive members include: John Prescott, sophomore defensive line; Jarrett Haywood, sophomore defensive line; Troy Roberson, sophomore linebacker; Giorgio Walton, sophomore linebacker; Cory Pippen, sophomore defensive back; Leo sophomore defensive back; and Woodrow Turner, sophomore defensive back.

Approximately 55 players are expected to return to Cisco for the 2011 season. Not only do they like the football program at Cisco, but also they appreciate the opportunity to pursue their academic goals.

“I really like attending Cisco because of the small class size and individual attention,” said McGlothen, who is originally from Grand Prairie and plans to transfer to Louisiana State University after playing another season with the Wranglers to pursue a degree in technical engineering.