Commissioner to Present Certificate to Community

222_go_texanEASTLAND – Eastland has been designated a GO TEXAN Certified Retirement Community (CRC). The CRC program helps communities attract retirees and potential retirees to make their homes in Texas. Currently, 30 communities in Texas have received the CRC designation.

On Thursday, Oct. 22, Agriculture Commissioner Todd Staples will present a certificate to Eastland Mayor Mark Pipkin, recognizing the city as a GO TEXAN Certified Retirement Community. The ceremony will take place at 2:00 P.M. at the The Connellee Hotel – East Room, located at 209 W Main St in Eastland.

Retirees spend an average $42,500 each year in their respective communities. Not only do retirees have a significant economic impact on retirement areas, but they also bring a wealth of knowledge and energy to community service, employment and business.

Commissioner Todd Staples 1-800-TELL-TDA
Texas Department of Agriculture

The CRC program is established to:

* promote Texas as a retirement destination to retirees and potential retirees both in and outside Texas;
* assist Texas communities in their efforts to market themselves as desirable retirement locations and to develop communities that retirees would find attractive for a retirement lifestyle;
* assist in developing retirement communities and long-term living communities for economic development purposes and as a means of providing a potential workforce and enriching Texas communities; and,
* encourage tourism to Texas to evaluate the state as a desirable retirement location and for visiting those who have retired in this state.

More about GO TEXAS Certified Texas Retirement Communities
Other Certified Texas Retirement Communities:
* Athens
* Atlanta
* Big Spring
* Canyon
* Clifton
* Cuero
* De Kalb
* Duncanville
* Eastland
* Franklin County
* Gun Barrel City
* Harlingen
* Longview
* Lufkin
* Mineola
* Nacogdoches County
* Odessa
* Palestine
* Panola County
* Paris
* Pittsburg
* Polk County
* Sabine County
* San Augustine County
* Shelby County
* South Padre Island
* Texarkana
* Tulia
* West Columbia
* Winnsboro